Interview with Aline Happ from the band Lyria

The following is an interview with Aline Happ, the lead vocalist and founder of the symphonic alternative metal band Lyria.  For short, MP is for Minerva’s Portal and AH is for Aline Happ.  Enjoy.

MP: How old were you when you decided to pursue a career in music, and was there any particular musicians or singers that inspired you?

AH: I’ve tried to play in bands since 2013 when I was only 13 years old (laughs). But professionally, I started in 2012 with Lyria.  I was 21 to 22. There are many bands and artists who inspired me such as: Evanescence, Epica, Nightwish, Sarah Brightman, Linkin Park and many many others.

MP: I have watched you perform musicals and also saw the video of Lyria doing “Let it Go” from the movie “Frozen.” You seem to have a very diverse voice. Prior to Lyria, have you done voice training of any sort?

AH: Yes, i started singing classes when I was 13. I had 3 different teachers, but now I am on my own.

MP: You seem to keep very busy with music. What do you like to do with your free time when you are not doing music?

AH: I like taking photos, modeling, cooking, going to the mall, spending my time with family and friends, talking to fans whenever I can, taking a walk, making handcraft items…. I also like to try different makeup styles, and I also like to decorate.

MP: Sounds like there are several things you enjoy. i know I am curious, and I am sure other fans would be curious. What is the story behind the name Lyria?

AH: I was attending Greek Mythology classes at the University which inspired me. The name Lyria was inspired by the Greek Mythology and the lyre which was an important musical instrument for the Greeks. It is also related to the flower lily and to the word “lyrics.”

MP: That is awesome that you have taken Greek Mythology. Do you have plans to release a second full length album within the next few years?

AH: Yes, we already have some songs, but we are currently focused on promoting “Catharsis”. In fact, we will release a new music video very soon.

MP: I really look forward to seeing your new music video. Can you tell us what song you will be doing a video for, or would you rather us be surprised?

AH: Unfortunately I can’t. It is a surprise. [🙂].  We created a Facebook event to promote it and we will be live to answer questions.

MP:  Surprises are always fun [🙂] So us fans want to know more about you as a person. How about some favorites? What is your favorite color? Number? Foods? Movie(s)? Book(s)? Aerobic Exercise? Or any other favorites you want to mention?

AH: (Laughs)! So, I like black, green, blue, and purple. I don’t have a favorite number. Talking about food is complicated because I like a variety of things. I could be here making a list for a long time [😛] So: meat, potatoes, vegetables, chocolate milk, hamburgers, hot dogs, pasta and chocolate cake. Movies: The Disney ones and White Chicks (Hilarious). Books: The Harry Potter Series and Sherlock Holmes’. When it comes to exercises, I prefer dancing and a running/walking simulator (transfer). I also practice Pilates.

MP: Where do you hope to be 5 years from now? 10 Years?

AH: This question is difficult. Do you have another? (Laughs)  I imagine Lyria gaining more and more success. I want to be playing at big festivals and concerts around the world. I want to help more and more people through music [😊]

MP: What is the main message you want to give to your fans through your music and example as a person? Is there anything else you would like to tell everyone before we finish?

AH: To be a good person and never give up. You can overcome bad moments, you can be stronger, successful, and kind at the same time.

Thanks for the interview. For whom doesn’t know us, give try and check it out our stuff [😊] For the fans, thank you!

Leave a Reply

